Pushing myself out of my Comfort Zone

I have a reminder on my phone at 8am daily, that says PUSH YOURSELF OUT OF YOUR COMFORT ZONE TODAY. Why? Because it’s how we grow and learn. Most days, life does take me out of my comfort zone without me having to push. Yesterday though, I did push, big time. Fist bump to me! Boom! πŸ‘ŠπŸ»
I was at a conference on music and autism for work, in a room full of 30 total strangers, and we had to go round and say why we were there and I stood up in front of the whole group and said I have a personal as well as professional interest because last year I was diagnosed with Aspergers. I’m quite a private person and do not normally do public exposures. In fact I almost always stay pretty quiet. It should in theory have been easier as it was part of the theme of the conference, but it didn’t feel comfortable. The others were all professionals working with autistic people, and I could see them trying to work out, was I one of Us or one of Them? Actually, it’s possible to be both, as I was showing them. There wasn’t really any response. I suppose I’d hoped someone would come up to me afterwards and tell me I was brave. Two people did tell me they had autistic kids. I’m proud of myself , it’s the first time I’ve come out to people other than family and close friends. The more I do it, I guess the easier it will get. The more we all come out, the more the stigma will be chipped away at, people will see we are not all like Rain Man and the more people will treat us as different not less. Go me! πŸ‘ŠπŸ»

Leave a Reply

